Williamson only Hawk honored by Atlantic 10 in postseason awards

St. Joe’s guard Garrett Williamson was named to the Atlantic 10 All-Defensive team today, the only Hawk to garner any postseason recognition.

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=Garrett+Williamson&iid=1141236″ src=”2/c/a/e/Saint_Josephs_v_c634.jpg?adImageId=11087456&imageId=1141236″ width=”380″ height=”437″ /]

Richmond’s Kevin Anderson was named Player of the Year, while Fordham’s Chris Gaston was honored as the Rookie of the Year. Damian Saunders earned recognition as the Defensive Player of the Year, and Temple’s Ramone Moore was named the Sixth Man of the Year.

Temple’s Fran Dunphy took home Coach of the Year honors, while Dayton’s Chris Johnson earned the Chris Daniels Most Improved Player award. Yves Mekongo of La Salle was named the Student-Athlete of the Year.

Anderson leads a first team comprised of all underclassmen, including A-10 co-scoring champ Jordan Crawford. Ricky Harris of UMass, who finished tied with Crawford at 19.7 points per game, landed on the third team.

Williamson struggled early on, but has turned in some tremendous performances down the stretch, solidifying his reputation as one of the best on-ball defenders in the conference. The season highlight for him and the Hawks was his emphatic block in the waning seconds against Dayton to seal the upset over the Flyers.

Some of his most glowing performances on the defensive end came by shutting down Penn’s Zack Rosen (eight points on 1-2 shooting), Richmond’s Kevin Anderson (nine points on 4-15 shooting), St. Louis’ Kwamain Mitchell (nine points and five turnovers), Juan Fernandez (a shutout on 0-10 shooting and three turnovers in the first meeting with Temple), Ryan Brooks (12 points on 3-10 shooting in the second meeting with the Owls), and Rodney Green of La Salle (12 points on 5-16 shooting). Head coach Phil Martelli’s reliance on zone defense late in the season has changed the dynamic for Williamson, but he has still starred as an essential cog in the scheme.

Here’s the full list:

First team

Anderson, Lavoy Allen (Temple), Crawford (Xavier), Saunders (Duquesne), Chris Wright (Dayton)

Second Team

Ryan Brooks (Temple), David Gonzalvez (Richmond), Rodney Green (La Salle), Kwamain Mitchell (Saint Louis), Andrew Nicholson (St. Bonaventure)

Third Team

Keith Cothran (Rhode Island), Harris (Massachusetts), Delroy James (Rhode Island), Jason Love (Xavier), Shamari Spears (Charlotte)

Honorable Mention

Juan Fernandez (Temple), Damian Hollis (George Washington), Willie Reed (Saint Louis)

Rookie Team

Chris Braswell (Charlotte), Cody Ellis (Saint Louis), Gaston (Fordham), Lasan Kromah (George Washington), Aaric Murray (La Salle), Akeem Richmond (Rhode Island)

Defensive Team

Allen (Temple), Gonzalvez (Richmond), Saunders (Duquesne), London Warren (Dayton), Williamson

Academic Team

Brian Conklin (Saint Louis), Jason Duty (Duquesne), Kurt Huelsman (Dayton), Will Martell (Rhode Island), Mekongo (La Salle)

For all the stats, here’s the pdf from the A-10’s web site.

– Matthew De George ’10

Leave a comment

Filed under St. Joe's Sports

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s